Department Chair

Simon Cordery Modern Transatlantic

Director of Graduate Education

Kathleen Hilliard Informal Economy, Civil War, Slavery, & Emancipation


Tunde Adeleke African & African American History; Global African Diaspora
James T. Andrews Russia & Comparative Eurasia; History of European Science & Technology
Michael D. Bailey Medieval European History: Magic, Witchcraft, Superstition & Heresy
Brian D. Behnken U.S. History, African American History, Mexican American History, Latino/a Studies, & History of Civil Rights & Social Activism
Jeremy Best Modern Europe & the World, Modern Germany
Amy Bix Technology & Engineering, Medicine, & Science; U.S. Women's History
Jeff Bremer Iowa History, Agricultural & Rural History, Early American Republic, History Education
Stacy Cordery First Ladies, Roosevelt Family, and Gilded Age & Progressive Era
Julie Courtwright U.S. Environmental History & the American West
Paul Griffiths 16th- & 17th-Century English Cultural & Social History
Bonar Hernández Latin America, Religion and Politics, Social Movements, Transnationalism
Kevin D. Hill Agricultural History & Medieval Europe
David Hollander Greek and Roman History
Lawrence McDonnell 19th Century American History, Slavery and the Old South, Civil War and Reconstruction
John Warne Monroe Modern France & Francophone West Africa, Modern Europe, Cultural & Intellectual History, Material Culture
Pamela Riney-Kehrberg U.S. Rural & Agricultural History, Families, & Communities
Amy Rutenberg Modern U.S., Women's & Gender History, War & Society, Social Studies Education
Wendie Ellen Schneider History of Empire, British History, Legal History, & Animal History
Tao Wang Political & Diplomatic History of Modern China, History of U.S. Foreign Relations, & the Cold War International History
Timothy S. Wolters History of Technology, Maritime/Naval History, Military Historiography

Staff and academic advising

Ashley Harris Secretary II
Kevin D. Hill Agricultural History & Medieval Europe

Non-departmental historians

Joshua L. Rosenbloom Department of Economics, Professor and Chair